Why English is BORING!

boring-english1

Below is an article discussing why English class is boring and why students do not like English classes:

Why English is Boring Article click HERE

In order to make a classroom successful and engaging, I think it is important to understand that a lot of students absolutely dread English, think it is so boring, and want nothing to do with it. The article above discusses some of the reasons why we don’t like English including:

  • Reading boring textbooks
  • Learning grammar rules
  • Do a grammar exercise
  • Get assigned homework

If this was the classroom setting I was sitting in, I would be bored too. Too often English teachers (teachers in general) fall into the pattern of doing worksheets or reading out of the textbook because it doesn’t require them to do any additional work. This is extremely sad and detrimental to the students in our classroom.

With all of the new technology and tools at our fingers, there should not be any reason, other than laziness, to create an engaging lesson. Most of the work is often already done for us.

I often hear from students that they hate English because of a past English teacher you implemented the above practices. It is hard to get this students to get past their hatred, but I think we begin to help students like English again by providing them with engaging, motivating instruction.

Throughout this blog, many resources will be available to use in the classroom: blogging, fun activities, etc. Teachers can turn the boring classroom around!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why English is BORING!

  1. mkbnl says:

    Jenni, I had to teach English language arts one year when I was still teaching in the K-12 environment. One of the things that impressed me about teaching that course was that English language arts included more than just literature. The use of music and art as a way to convey stories and ideas impressed me, and engaged my students.

  2. nthndgrt says:

    It seems that the article is focused on learning English as a second language, but the problems are similar to what many students face in English classes. I have similar experiences with this from English classes that I have taken as well as following the language curriculum at my school (which I am looking to change). I agree with many of the points made. However, I do disagree with the grammar aspect. While learning specific grammar aspects of a secondary language might not seem useful, I believe they are extremely useful in your native language. Many of the grammar rules are developed to make the language flow, giving a connection between thoughts, ideas, descriptions, etc. making the communication more effective.

  3. jenniborg22 says:

    nthndgrt, I’m sorry I gave the impression that grammar was not important. That is very far from the truth! What I meant was grammar was not being taught in an engaging way. Kids are just handed a worksheet or an exercise everyday.

  4. bethtransue says:

    Jenni, What are engaging ways that you use to teach grammar? I agree that it is so important. I even see poor grammar used by students at the liberal arts college where I am a librarian. Have you found engaging ways to teach grammar that improves grammar and writing skills? Thanks for sharing.

  5. jenniborg22 says:

    One way I have found to make grammar engaging is to make it a game. Students play throughout the school year to receive points which equals prizes or rewards. Students may not like grammar, but they are willing to learn it and be engaged with it because they want the reward. 🙂

Leave a Reply

